Faculty Honors & Awards

Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD 02/06/2017

The National Cancer Institute bestowed its Outstanding Investigator Award on UChicago professor Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD (Deaprtment of Pathology, the Ben May Department for Cancer Research, Department of Medicine - Section of Hematology/Oncology, UCCCC, Committees on Cancer Biology, Immunology, Molecular Medicine/MPMM).

The award guarantees $600,000 in direct costs per year over seven years. Read more on the Science Life blog.

Bernard Roizman, Sc.D. 02/06/2017

Bernard Roizman, Joseph Regenstein Distinguished Service Professor of Virology in the Departments of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology, received the 2017 Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology.

Roizman received the award "for his many seminal contributions to understanding the mechanisms by which herpes viruses replicate and cause disease."

Robert Grossman, PhD 01/13/2017

Professor Robert Grossman has been named the Frederick H. Rawson Professor in Medicine and the College. He is also the chief research informatics officer for the Division of the Biological Sciences, Director of Informatics at the Institute for Genomics and Systems Biology, the director of Center for Data Intensive Science, and co-chief of the Section of Computational Biomedicine and Biomedical Data Science in the Department of Medicine. Grossman is the principal investigator of the NCI Genomic Data Commons, recently covered at length in Chicago magazine.

J. Keith Moffat, PhD 01/13/2017

Professor J. Keith Moffat has been named the Louis Block Distinguished Service Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the College. Moffat is a founding member of the Institute for Biophysical Dynamics, and founded the Center for Advanced Radiation Sources (CARS). He is Primary Investigator of BioCARS at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.

Erin Adams, PhD 01/12/2017

Professor Erin Adams was named the Joseph Regenstein Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the College. Adams also holds appointments in the Committees on Immunology and Cancer Biology and is one of four principal investigators for the myCHOICE program.

Geoffrey Greene, PhD 11/22/2016

Professor Geoffrey Greene (the Virginia and D. K. Ludwig Professor and Chair of the Ben May Department for Cancer Research; Chair, Committee on Cancer Biology) has been named a 2016 AAAS Fellow "for distinguished contributions to the field of steroid hormone action and breast cancer, particularly for the development of estrogen and progesterone receptor antibodies." Read the full story on our News page

Zhe-Xi Luo, PhD 11/22/2016

Professor Zhe-Xi Luo (Department of Organismal Biology and Anatomy, Committee on Evolutionary Biology) has been named a 2016 AAAS Fellow "for outstanding descriptions of mammals from Jurassic and Cretaceous strata of China, and for documenting the diversity, ecology and relationships of early mammals." Read the full story on our News page.

Clifton Ragsdale, PhD 11/22/2016

Professor Clifton Ragsdale (Departments of Organismal Biology and Anatomy and Neurobiology; Committees on Neurobiology; Evolutionary Biology; and Development, Regeneration, and Stem Cell Biology) has been named a 2016 AAAS Fellow "for exceptionally insightful experimental observations on the evolution and development of the brain." Read the full story on our News page.

Jonathan Staley, PhD 11/22/2016

Professor Jonathan Staley (Department of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology; Committee on Genetics, Genomics, and Systems Biology) has been named a 2016 AAAS Fellow "for distinguished contributions to the RNA splicing field, particularly conformational rearrangements, maintenance of fidelity and active site of the spliceosome, a highly dynamic RNA-protein machine." Read the full story on our News page.

Neil Shubin 11/17/2016

On Friday, November 4, 2016, Neil Shubin (Robert R. Bensley Professor, Organismal Biology and Anatomy; Committee on Evolutionary Biology; Committee on Development, Regeneration & Stem Cell Biology) received the Addison Emery Verrill Medal from the Yale Peabody Museum. Read more.

Instagram Facebook Youtube