Divisional Academic Ceremony Awards

Once a year a committee of faculty reviews dissertations nominated by the graduate programs for consideration to be designated the best dissertation in the Biological Sciences Division.  Alex White (Ecology and Evolution) received the 2018-19 award, announced at the Divisional Academic Ceremony on Friday, June 14, for his work, Regional influences on community structure across the tropical-temperate divide.


Graduate programs also have the opportunity to select program dissertation awards.  The graduates listed below were recognized as well at the DAC.

The program awards for outstanding performance went to:

Jeffrey James Bunker (Interdisciplinary Scientist Training program: Immunology)

Qiang Chen (Computational Neuroscience)

Siyi Gu (Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics)

Katie Homa (Cell and Molecular Biology)

Juliana Han (Microbiology)

Yuanyuan (Cynthia) Li (Cancer Biology)

Xiaolei Lin (Public Health Sciences)

Toufic Mayassi (Immunology)

Lindsey Montefiori (Genetics, Genomics, and Systems Biology)

Sahar Mozaffari (Genetics, Genomics, and Systems Biology)

Sean Rose (Medical Physics)

Georgia Sampredo (Microbiology)

Tyler Starr (Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics)

Z Yan Wang (Neurobiology)

Jiajie Xu (Development, Regeneration, and Stem Cell Biology)





Instagram Facebook Youtube